The Seeing Stone by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

27 Nov

Bibliography: DiTerlizzi, Tony & Black, Holly. The Seeing Stone. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2003. 108 pages. Tr. $9.39, ISBN 978-0-689-85937-3

Plot: Simon has ignored Thimbletack’s warning about the evil faeries and ventured out into the yard and was kidnapped by a group goblins, who just happened to be invisible. With Thimbletack’s help Jared is able to find a seeing stone that his great uncle created so that he could see faeries, known as the Sight. Now that he can see, Jared and Mallory set out to find Simon and are almost captured too. But they find the goblin camp set to rescuing Simon. They meet a hobgoblin named Hogsqueal who helps them escape the goblin camp without being eaten. Hogsqueal is kind enough to spit in their eyes so that they have the Sight permanently. While fleeing the goblin camp, the kids are clever and lead them to a troll who gobbles up the goblins. They head back to the camp to rescue the rest of the prisoners, including a griffin.

Review: This is the second book to the Spiderwick Chronicles, the first being The Field Guide. After learning that faeries are real, the twins, Simon and Jared, and their older sister, Mallory, start to run into faeries all over the place. They never realized there were so many creatures in the world. Some huge, some small, some timid, and others outright ruthless, but the three siblings face them all on with a brave facade and are starting to learn more about them. This is a wonderful adventure that takes you right out of this world into a world that you never believed was real. The illustrations are magnificent and depicted the characters in lively poses. The whole story is an eye-opening adventure.

Genre: Fantasy

Reading Level/Interest Level: 4.0/3-6 graders

Similar Materials: The Sisters Grimm series, by Michael Buckley, Peter and the Starcatchers, by Dave Barry

Reader’s Advisory: These books are fun to read and very creative. Diterlizzi and Black work well together. The Spiderwick Chronicles consist of: The Field Guide, The Seeing Stone, Lucinda’s Secret, The Ironwood Tree, and The Wrath of Mulgarath. Then there are several books that go beyond the these stories and branch off into their own. A wonderful read for tweens.

Leave a comment

Posted by on November 27, 2011 in LIBR 264-10 Digital Record


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: