A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle

25 Nov

Bibliography: L’Engle, Madeline. A Wrinkle in Time. Illustrated by the author. Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1962. 203 pages. Tr. $14.50, ISBN 978-0-374-38613-9

Plot: Meg Murry is seen as a troublesome kid by her classmates and her teachers, but her parents she her as a little girl capable of great things. Her mother and father are scientist, her twin ten year old bothers are athletes, and her five year old brother, Charles Wallace, is a genius, however, her father is missing in action. One dark and stormy night, the Murry’s are visited by a Mrs. Whatsit, who comes in to dry her feet. Mrs. Whatsit tells Mrs. Murry that the “tesseract” is real, causing her to almost faint with disbelief. The next day Meg discovers the tesseract is a scientific concept that her father was working with before her went missing. Meg, Charles Wallace, and a friend, Calvin, venture out to hopefully find Meg’s father.

Review: This beautifully written novel is the winner of the Newbery Medal of 1963, among other awards and nominees. Meg Murry, Charles Wallace Murry, and Calvin O’Keefe are wonderful characters that grow and evolve throughout the book. They are brave, intelligent, and sincere characters that can either stand alone or work as a group. The worlds L’Engle has created are artfully crafted from elements of fantasy and science fiction the mingle into a whole new experience that will keep your mind reeling from beginning to end. Children will love the adventure and creative creatures who inhabit the various planets Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin visit. The adventure doesn’t end here, look for the sequels.

Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy

Reading Level/Interest Level: 4.7/5-8 graders

Similar Materials: The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman, Chronicles of Narnia, by C. S. Lewis, The Earthsea series, by Ursula K. LeGuin

Reader’s Advisory: This book won the Newbery Medal of 1963, the Sequoyah Award, and the Lewis Carroll Shelf Award. Other books in the series include: A Wind in the Door, Many Waters, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and An Acceptable Time. There a lot of different characters you will meet throughout this book, but the three constants are Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin. Read this book while you can, time is of the essences.

Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2011 in LIBR 264-10 Digital Record


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: